Pharmaceutical Care Network Europe

The Pharmaceutical Care Network Europe (PCNE) was established in 1994 by a number of European pharmaceutical care researchers. It became an official association (under Dutch law) in 2004.

Medication Review Drug-related problem classification Guidelines and Indicators

About Pharmaceutical Care Network Europe

The Pharmaceutical Care Network Europe (PCNE) was established in 1994 by a number of European pharmaceutical care researchers. It became an official association (under Dutch law) in 2004. According to the bylaws, the aim of PCNE is to help to develop pharmacy along the lines of pharmaceutical care in the involved European countries through:

Current board members of the PCNE (2018-2019):

If you want to know more about what PCNE does, have a look at past conferences, or at the list of theses of our members.

What is Pharmaceutical Care?

In 2013, the Pharmaceutical Care Network Europe together with international experts, created a new (European) definition of pharmaceutical care, which reads as follows:

Pharmaceutical Care is the pharmacist’s contribution to the care of individuals in order to optimize medicines use and improve health outcomes.

In a position paper, the involved members have explained how this defintion is developped and why.
This position paper can be downloaded here >>

An article on the development of the definition has been publiched in the International Journal of Clinical Pharmacy. 
A almost litteral copy of this paper can be downloaded here >>

Theses on Pharmaceutical Care

Many mamber or students of our members have produced theses (mostly PhD) on the copncept , implementation and effects of pharmaceutical care. A list of these theses can be found here. We welcome additions to this list.

PCNE Vision

For any organisation it is important to know where it is going. During a 2 year project, two members of the PCNE board (Charlotte Rossing and Veerle Foulon) developped the vision for 2025 for the PCNE. This Vision was accepted by the PCNE members in February 2018. After an initial brainstorm with some board- and founding members, they offered several options for the members to contribute to that vision. The final version of the Vision on the future of PCNE can be downloaded here in a short and long version. You can also download a document to see how this Vision has been developped.

PCNE Vision 2025 short version

PCNE Vision 2025 long version

PCNE Vision 2025, development

How to become a member

The membership of PCNE is open to any person or institution that does pharmaceutical care research and/or implementation and/or implementation research in Europe. There is no special fee, but membersmust sign a Letter of Intent. This letter basically is a document that stresses the fair relationships between all members, respect for the intellectual ownership of projects, methods and studies.

All members (or representatives of Institutional members) at some point during their membership, are expected to be part of the board for a certain period of time (usually 6 years), of which 2 years as chairperson or secretary. To be able to become a member of the PCNE Association, an institution must present their pharmaceutical care related work in General Assembly of PCNE. After the presentation, the members present decide upon membership.

The Pharmaceutical Care Network Europe also knows Observers. Observers are natural persons or Institutions that live, or have their seat, outside of Europe, but are also active in pharmaceutical care research. Observers do not have voting rights in the PCNE Association, but are free to attend and participate in the exchange of ideas and projects and the General Assembly. Just like individual and institutional members, observers also must sign a Letter of Intent.


The current members of the PCNE:

Honorary Members

Bugnon, Olivier (Switzerland)
Cordina, Maria (Malta)
Frøkjær, Bente (Denmark)
Henman, Martin (Ireland)
Herborg Henriksen, Hanne (Denmark)
McElnay, James (N. Ireland)
Noyce +, Peter
Schulz, Martin (Germany)
Tromp +, Dick
van Mil, Foppe (Netherlands)

Individual members

Alves da Costa, Filipa (Portugal)
Bernsten, Cecilia (Sweden)
Bezverhni, Zinaida (Moldova)
Bissell, Paul (United Kingdom)
Bjorkman, Ingeborg (Sweden)
Capdevila, Carme (Spain)
Caramona, Margarida (Portugal)
Dreischulte, Tobias (Germany)
Erzkamp, Susanne (Germany)
Farrugia, Nicole (Malta)
Gorostiza Hormaetxe, Iñigo (Spain)
Guerreiro, Mara (Portugal)
Hughes, Carmel (N. Ireland)
Krüger, Manfred (Germany)
Leikola, Saija (Finland)
Meštrović, Arijana (Croatia)
Nadin, Giancarlo (Italy)
Nielsen, Trine (Denmark)
Paulino, Ema (Portugal)
Peura, Sirpa (Finland)
Pfister, Elisabeth (Germany)
Richling, Ina (Germany)
Rose, Olaf (Germany)
Samu, Antal (Hungary)
Schaefer, Marion (Germany)
Silva Santos, Sónia (Portugal)
Sondergaard, Birthe (Denmark)
Tully, Mary (United Kingdom)
Verheyen, Frank (Germany)
Westerlund, Tommy (Sweden)

Institutional Members

Belgium: APB, Brussels
Belgium: K.U. Leuven. Clinical pharmacology and pharmacotherapy, Leuven
Belgium: KAVA-Royal Pharmacist Association of Antwerp, Antwerp
Belgium: KLAV Royal Pharmacist Association of Limburg, Hasselt
Belgium: KOVAG, Sint-Martens-Latem
Bosnia & Herzegowina: Farmaceutska Komora, Sarajevo
Bulgaria: Bulgarian Pharmaceutical Union, Sofia
Czech Republic: University of Brno, Dept. of Applied Pharmacy, BRNO
Denmark: Pharmakon, Hillerod
Denmark: Univ. of Copenhagen, Section for Social and Clinical Pharmacy, Copenhagen
Germant: Universität Münster, Institute of Pharmaceutical & Medicinal Chemistry, Münster
Germany: ABDA - Department of Medicine, Berlin
Germany: Freie Universität Berlin, Dept. of Clinical Pharmacy and Biochemistry, Berlin
Germany: Heinrich Heine Universität, Institute of Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacotherapy, Düsseldorf
Germany: Universität Bonn, Dept. Klinische Pharmazie, Bonn
Germany: University of Heidelberg, Cooperation unit Clinical Pharmacy, Heidelberg
Kosovo: University of Prishtina, Dept. of Pharmacy Practice & Pharmaceutical Care, , Prishtina
Malta: Malta School of Pharmacy, Msida
Netherlands: Dutch Institute for the Rational Use of Medicine, Utrecht
Netherlands: KNMP-Royal Dutch Association for the Advancement of Pharmacy, The Hague
Netherlands: Utrecht University Division of Pharmacoepidemiology & Clinical Pharmacy, Utrecht
Netherlands: Vrije Universiteit, Dept. of Clinical Pharmacology and Pharmacy, Amsterdam
Norway: University of Oslo, School of Pharmacy, Olso
Poland: Jagiellonian University, Dept. of Social Pharmacy , Krakow
Portugal: ANF-CEFAR, Lisbon
Portugal: Polytechnic Institute of Guarda - School of health science, Guarda
Portugal: University of Lisbon, Faculdade de Farmácia, Lisbon
Serbia: Univ. of Belgrade, Dept. of Social Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical legislation, Belgrade
Slovenia: University of Ljubljana, Dept. of Pharmacy, Ljubljana
Spain: Consejo General de Colegios Oficiales de Farmacéuticos de España, Madrid
Spain: Pharmaceutical Care Foundation España, Barcelona
Spain: SEFAC, Madrid
Spain: Univ. de Granada. Facultad de Farmacia, Research group Pharmaceutical Care, Granada
Spain: Univ. of Barcelona. Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacotherapy Unit, Barcelona
Switzerland: University of Basel - Pharmaceutical Care Research Group, Basel
Ukraine: National University of Pharmacy, Dept. of Clinical pharmacology and clinical Pharmacy, Chariw
United Kingdom: University of Leeds, Dept. of Pharmacy, Leeds
United Kingdom: University of Nottingham, Centre for Pharmacy, Health & Society, Nottingham
Uniuted Kingdom: CLAHRC Northwest London , London


Australia: The University of Sydney School of Pharmacy, Sydney
Australia: University of Western Australia, Centre for Optimisation of Medicines, Perth
Peru: Redsaf, Lima
Aburuz, Salah (Jordan)
Cahill, Paula (United States)
Kheir, Nadir (Qatar)
Okechukwu, Raymond (Nigeria)
Winterstein, Almut (USA)